How to make the cells speak, so that they address our emotions, our feelings?

If Cell Worlds is part of an Open Science approach, it must adopt a universal language. This is why, from the beginning of the project, it was a question of creating powerful, spectacular music to support the narration and make the journey, in this world so mysterious, magical.

 

Youenn Lerb is a composer familiar with the hybridization of musical styles. For Cell Worlds, it is through the mixture of electronics and orchestra that he makes the unknown universe of cells resonate; sometimes using the finesse and fragility of bowed strings, sometimes passing through the power and warmth of brass, all supported by the precise rigor of organic samples, rhythm boxes and various synthesizers.

For the demystification to be complete, the projection of the spectator in moments of contemplation is essential. Thus, the soundtrack follows a structure leaving room for numerous passages of meditation and introspection. The latter contrast with more hectic, agitated, or luminous crossings giving rebounds in the narration.

 

The spectator's experience would not be complete if he cannot prolong it thanks to his imagination. To go in this direction, the soundtrack was composed to reconstitute audibly the visuals of the documentary and the exhibition. Also, the two works are available in their entirety on all audio streaming platforms, perpetuating the immersion.

website 1.jpg

Find the composer's networks: @youennlerb |  www.youennlerb.fr

Comment faire parler des cellules, pour qu’elles s’adressent à nos émotions, à nos sentiments ? Si Cell Worlds s’inscrit dans une démarche d’Open Science, il se doit de se doter d’un langage universel. C’est pourquoi, dès les prémisses du projet, il a été question de la création d’une musique puissante, spectaculaire pour soutenir la narration et rendre le voyage, dans ce monde si mystérieux, magique.

 

Youenn Lerb est un compositeur familier avec l’hybridation des styles musicaux. Pour Cell Worlds, c’est à travers le mélange de l'électronique et de l’orchestrale qu’il fait résonner l’univers méconnu des cellules ; tantôt usant de la finesse et la fragilité de cordes frottées, tantôt passant par la puissance et la chaleur des cuivres, le tout soutenu par la rigueur millimétrée de samples organiques, de boîtes à rythmes et de divers synthétiseurs.

Pour que la démystification soit complète, la projection du spectateur dans des instants de contemplations est essentielle. Ainsi, la bande originale suit une structure laissant place à de nombreux passages de méditations et d’introspections. Ces derniers contrastent avec des traversées plus mouvementées, agitées, ou lumineuses donnant des rebonds dans la narration.

 

L'expérience du spectateur ne serait pas achevée si celui-ci ne peut la prolonger grâce à son imaginaire. Pour aller dans ce sens, la bande originale a été composée pour reconstituer auditivement les visuels du documentaire et de l’exposition. Aussi, les deux œuvres sont disponibles dans leur intégralité sur toutes les plateformes de streaming audio, perpétuant l’immersion.

website 1.jpg

Retrouvez les réseaux du compositeur : @youennlerb |  www.youennlerb.fr